Dear America: My name is Crystal Simmons


As I read this article this morning my heart goes out to Imran, but I wrote a response because I felt his article lacked balance:

Crystal SimmonsCollapse

Jim Wallace
. Thank you for such a balanced response. I am African American via the Caribbean. I have been through many airports and was pulled for wearing wraps on my head or african garb. I do not take it personally at all. Being black I expect it. Also, since the U.S. is such a target for terroism…it is only appropriate for cursory checks to be made. I don’t agree when they go overboard (but I believe that is an individual issue rather than a system issue). America was once a boon for many now all of a sudden America is being criticized left, right and center. I think folks ought to look at the fact that they rode the donkey for all they could get out of that donkey and now they have forgotten how faithful that donkey was to them in their time of need. Whatever that need was, the donkey was there to facilitate it. Look around you and see what the land of opportunity made possible for us all today.

http://blogs.aljazeera.com/americas/2012/04/13/dear-america-my-name-khan-im-not-terrorist

Leave a Reply

