I am a Beautiful Black Woman


Image
I am a beautiful black woman

Reading two specific articles online yesterday had me wrought with sadness and ambivalence.  Reading Black Women,Sexual Assault and the Art of Resistance I felt very divided and could not articulate a response to the blog.  The author herself Brooke Axtell I believe wrote a balanced article, but the follow up comments were disparaging.  The article’s intent were to present facts pertaining to Black Women, Sexual Assault and the Art of Resistance, but the commentaries were biased, political, racist, and one sided with the exception of one comment.

To further add insult to injury, I read another article Why Black Women are Less Physically Attractive than other Women, but Black Men are rated better looking than other Men? which totally made me sadder than sad.  The word is despondent. The article was totally destructive and malicious!!  This article was eventually pulled from the site but was originally written by Satoshi Kanazawa in the Scientific Fundamentalist Psychology Today.

On Mr. Kanazawa’s page there is the following quote:

“If the truth offends people, it is our job as scientists to offend them.  Wir müssen wissen, wir werden wissen.

“If what I say is wrong (because it is illogical or lacks credible scientific evidence), then it is my problem.  If what I say offends you, it is your problem.”

Prepare to be offended. 

What Mr. Kanazawa says is indeed offensive,  and I agree it is my problem.  However, what he said is also very illogical and lacks total credible scientific evidence.  This man has taken it upon himself to make an assessment of black women vs. other women, which is remarkable.  If he does not find black women to be attractive I think that is personal, but his blatant inaccuracies are off base, illogical and wrong.  I hope he is prepared to be offended.

As he can see from my picture I am a beautiful black woman, and I come from a lineage of beautiful black women.  As a race of people, and I am not talking about the black race, we are all beautiful.  Mr. Kanazawa’s assessment of black women shows his lack of vision, insight, intelligence and perception of people generally.  He must suffer from tunnel vision and should be prepared himself to be offended, because while he  may not be alone in his skewed belief and thinking.  I know this to be a total falsehood.

Crystal Simmons

3 Replies to “I am a Beautiful Black Woman”

Leave a Reply

